12. Two travellers one dream

“I can control my destiny, but not my fate. Destiny means there are opportunities to turn right or left, but fate is a one-way street. I believe we all have the choice as to whether we fulfil our destiny, but our fate is sealed.”

– Paulo Coelho

As Max would say, hates gona hate, haha to those who doubt us…..

I use to dream of working in a hostel as a receptionist, really, for years I thought of packing up my job in Brighton and working in a hostel. The thought of meeting so many new people from all over the world was a dream but did not think it was going to happen so soon.

A series of bizzar events led me to meeting Max. I approached him, he was standing opposite me at the Mad Monkey Phnom Penh bar on pub crawl night in April. I thought he was gay as he was with a man and they kept looking at one another lovingly. They said they had a crazy night the previous night, kept winking at each other, I liked this, they seemed open. Anyway their crazy stories ended up being about ladies they had been with.

18425047_1273568232757219_7272637661553503734_n.jpg

Max and I wanted to open a hostel, we spoke about it this night, both a little drunk, he said he would speak to me the following day. I did not take him seriously, thought it was another random travel encounter….3 months down the line we are opening a hostel in Siem Reap. He is the owner and I will work alongside him.

There have been many ideas, plans, thoughts, ups and downs for him and confusion for me but today he decided to go ahead and rent a property he found and today I decided I am going. Begun packing my huge suitcases to relocate and make this dream happen. There has been drama and some madness but thats not my story to share. Maybe Max will soon.

All the unfinished business I had here in the UK is completed and now I can put everything into making this hostel work. My degree is finally useful, all my experience in the travel industry contributed to this moment. In two weeks we will reunite and become a team.

Max is brilliant, he annoys me sometimes when he is mean but he is also lovely, we have good banter but I can’t help but adore him like a little brother. He teases me, makes fun of me and send me strange videos of his mad antiques and crazy nights but at the end of the day he has had my back and looked out for me in many ways. He has taught me about boys and I have listened to his girl problems.

We will be a little team, make this happen together and live a dream a lot of travellers would never have the will power to pursue. We are going to open in the next month and build our vision.

The beauty about our partnership is that it is purely platonic. I have a background in the travel industry and have worked with hostels before. I have have a degree in Events business management. Max has experience in business too as his family own a successful business in Germany. He is also very creative and has come up with the majority of the ideas.

We know it will be hard and we know it is a process of trial and error but we are both well travelled and believe we can pull this off. We are going to work damn hard to build a home where travellers can come to stay with us and enjoy the beauty of Siem Reap.

Any tips and advise you would would be greatly appreciated and anyone who would like to help get in touch 🙂

Watch this space!! More updates will come as we go.

Peace out ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

